Musée des Arts Décoratifs

On my first day in Paris I decided to visit the Musée des Arts Décoratifs.

Their current exhibit, Fashion Forward, 3 siècles de Mode, was recommended in an article I had read on French Vogue’s website, and it seemed like a perfect place to start. Attached to the Louvre, the Musée des Arts Décoratifs is a beautiful building on the rue de Rivoli, just 30 minutes walk from where I’m staying in Saint-Lazare.

I’ve just turned 26, so I don’t get young person’s free entry into museums in Paris – gutted – but I was so excited to be there that I didn’t mind paying the €15 entry fee to see both the special exhibits and the rest of the museum.

The first exhibition I saw was Fashion Forward, a brief rundown of 3 centuries in French fashion. The clothes were all absolutely beautiful, and so well displayed, I could have stayed there for hours.

The second was an exhibition all about Barbie. Don’t laugh. It was awesome.

I didn’t stay anywhere near long enough to see the whole museum, so it definitely warrants another visit – but I would absolutely recommend it if you’re ever visiting Paris and don’t fancy the Louvre.

One thought on “Musée des Arts Décoratifs

Leave a Reply

