Galeries Lafayette 

N left on Saturday for a couple of weeks, and feeling a little down after he left, I thought that shopping would be a great distraction.

Galeries Lafayette (40 Boulevard Haussmann, 75009 Paris) is quite close to where I’m staying at the moment, and I’d walked past it a couple of times but hadn’t had the chance to go in. Emerging theme I know, but I’d read a bit about how beautiful it was inside, and so it seemed perfect for window shopping and some retail therapy.

First things first, do not visit here at lunchtime on a Saturday. Unless you like the feeling of  being herded like cattle. Which I don’t. It was just so full of people that the ground floor wasn’t a pleasant experience at all. They had an amazing selection of make-up and fragrance that I didn’t get to browse, just because it was so crowded. But the further up you go in the building, the quieter it gets.

I sat and had a drink in one of the store’s cafes and people watched for a while, taking pictures of the dome roof and the different levels. It really does beat Harrods hands down for  that, if you can look past the crowds, it’s a pretty place to be.

It’s absolutely packed with high-end designers, which sadly I can’t afford (the dream), but it also has a small number of great high-street brands. The Zara was fantastic, with a tightly edited selection that included a lot of their hero pieces for the summer. I was feeling a little spendy, so couldn’t resist an embroidered bomber jacket with birds and flower blossom all over it that I can’t wait to wear.

After realising that I’d spent a couple of hours in Galeries Lafayette, I decided to wander over to the first Chanel store on Rue Cambon (31 Rue Cambon, 75001 Paris). Another place I’d been wanting to visit since I arrived, it’s down a little side street, which I hadn’t been expecting. Somehow I thought it would be on a grand street like the Champs-Élysées. Another thing I hadn’t expected, naively, was the crowds. It was absolutely stunning inside though, and I would love one day to be able to visit Coco Chanel’s apartments which are above the store.

But for now I’m happy just to have spent that afternoon window shopping.

Leave a Reply

