Angelina’s

No trip to Paris would be complete without sampling some of the city’s incredible pâtisserie.

I’d read about Angelina’s in one of my favourite blogs, and knew that it had to go on my list of places to eat while living here. My friend NT came to visit at the start of August, and I’ve taken every single visitor there since, because it is absolutely beautiful. And the cakes aren’t bad either…

Just on the Rue de Rivoli, opposite the Tuileries and close to the Louvre, this little cafe has been making wonderful cakes and pastries since 1903. And now you can even buy their famous biscuits and bottles of hot chocolate from the supermarket (or my local supermarket at least…!).

It’s absolutely beautiful inside – all warm lighting and French murals on the walls. At the entrance you can buy their delicious creations to take away, and they’re all so neatly lined up and colourful, absolutely everything is tempting.

They have a lunch and breakfast menu, but really I have no idea why you would visit here for eggs. You come for the cakes. Having visited quite a few times now, I can highly recommend:

The Mont Blanc – their signature, made out of chestnut cream and meringue. A little sickly for me, but gorgeous nonetheless.

Tarte au Citron – I absolutely love tarte au citron, and this was by far the best I’ve ever had.

Caprice au caramel – a caramel cheesecake, and absolutely beautiful.

Désirée – frou-frou, frothy, fruity, fabulousness. Strawberry cream and profiterole type things all piled on top of a biscuit base.

But you could order absolutely anything from their menu and I’m sure it would be delicious.

Absolutely worth a visit (and a repeat visit, and another…!).

One thought on “Angelina’s

Leave a Reply

